Free To Be…

Hello World!!!

Since President Obama speech’s in Cairo, Egypt last week, I have been thinking about how Christians view and treat people who choose a different faith. President Obama spoke about preparing a path for peace between this country and the Islamic world – a sizeable feat since 9/11, Muslims have become on par with satanists it seems in this country…I think being a member of a minority group makes you sensitive to lumping people in one category, but I must confess that I, too, have found myself wondering what really goes on mosques…

However, I do know that Jesus was the ultimate peacemaker and as followers, we have the responsiblity to attempt to live peaceably with our neighbors even if we don’t always agree with their choices – religious or otherwise…One of the ways that I live at peace with people is to learn more about them…Last year, I attended a book signing for Muslim author, Melody Moezzi. She, too, felt that Muslims were demonized post 9/11 and decided to write book to demystify Islam and the people that are a part of that faith. Her book, “War on Error: Real Stories of American Muslims,” includes profiles of 12 American Muslims from various walks of life. Below is how the book is described on her Web site:

War on Error brings together the stories of twelve young people, all vastly different but all American, and all Muslim. Their approaches to religion couldn’t be more diverse: from a rapper of Korean and Egyptian descent to a bisexual Sudanese American to a converted white woman from Colorado living in Cairo and wearing the hijab. These individuals, whether they were born to the religion or came to it on their own, have made their own decisions about how observant they’ll be, whether or not to fast, how often to pray, and what to wear.

Though each story is unique, each is also seen through the searching eyes of Melody Moezzi, herself an American Muslim of Iranian descent. She finds that the people she interviews are horrified that, in a post-9/11 world, they have seen their religion come to be represented, in the minds of many Americans, by terrorism. These thoughtful and articulate individuals represent the truth about the faith and its adherents who are drawn to the logic, compassion, and tolerance they find in Muslim teachings.

Moezzi, ever comfortable with contradiction and nuance, is a likable narrator whose underlying assumption that “faith is greater than dogma” is strengthened as she learns more about her religion and faces her own biases and blind spots. This fresh new voice, combined with the perceptions and experiences of her fellow American Muslims, make for a read that is both illuminating and enjoyable.

As we all know, this country was founded on religious freedom and God, Himself, gives us the choice to choose to serve Him…I find it so hypocritical when people force their views on others, knowing that our Lord doesn’t force Himself on us…Now, don’t get me wrong…I know that God wants us to tell others about our faith…how else can the gospel reach the world…but we cannot force others to believe how we believe…and when force turns to violence…is God really behind that…

I’m thinking of the murder of the doctor who performed abortions. He was shot and killed last Sunday in front of his church…We all know that many, very vocal Christians do not support abortion but is that a justification to murder those who perform or support abortions…Of course not…but as President Obama said (I’m paraphrashing obviously)  in his speech, extremism must be confronted and not supported…

Here is what he did say:

In Ankara, I made clear that America is not – and never will be – at war with Islam. We will, however, relentlessly confront violent extremists who pose a grave threat to our security. Because we reject the same thing that people of all faiths reject: the killing of innocent men, women, and children. And it is my first duty as President to protect the American people.

So here are my questions for you:  1. Are you friends with someone of another faith? 2. Are you friends with someone who has no faith? 3. Are you friends with someone who is agnostic?  Do you and that friend discuss your different faiths or lack of faith? How have those discussions impacted your relationship?

I have been friends with someone of the Bahai Faith. We discussed our faiths but we never tried to convince each other to leave our respective faiths, and I was comfortable with that as our faiths was not the primary reason for our friendship. I also have friends who are agnostic as well…Now, I would be lying if I said sometimes I think to myself if only this person knew the Lord…but I’m not the Judge…

Any thoughts?

NEWSFLASH:

In an effort to diversify this blog, I have decided to cover certain categories on a periodic basis…

Shout Out To… -This category will feature different churches that have remarkable ministries in church or outside of the church…Check out my blog on Wednesday for my first official “Shout Out” in this series…

Book Notes – This category will include book reviews of Christian books for the most part…However, since I am a bibliophile, I will also review interesting books from a varietyof genres.

Blog Envy – As I stated in a previous post, I have a tendency to be a hater…but in an effort to evolve and become ever more spiritual, I will feature remarkable blogs in this category….Of course, I will be secretly hoping that my blog becomes more popular than the blogs I feature, but the Lord is still working on me… 🙂

Living Single – In this category, I hope to feature people who are single but are living victoriously – in spite of the pressure in this world to be coupled up…(it even goes back to the days of Noah.)

Soulmates – I want to feature Christian couples who have been married for 10 years or more and share the secrets of their success…

Your Turn – As self-centered as I can be, I, of course, realize that I am not the only one who has something to say…I will ask people who have interesting views and or experiences to share them here…

If you have suggestions for any of these categories, please e-mail me at jholness7@hotmail.com

 

 

 

 


 

~ by jackieholness on June 7, 2009.

6 Responses to “Free To Be…”

  1. Loved your article. Interesting point…I have been married to a Muslim for 34 years and we have never had a problem. He respects my religion and I respect his even though we know there are differences. We raised our children protestant with the understanding that when they became of age they could choose their own religion.

  2. We Christians have not said or done enough in support of Pres. Obama’s remarks and moreover in support of our Muslim brethen, especially here in the US. I have a sister who practices a different faith. We do have discussions about our beliefs. I know people of other faiths although we probably don’t really talk about our commonalities and differences in faith much. Religion has become such a hot button topic.

  3. @ML,wow, people of different faiths really can get along…:)

    @Patricia, I don’t think we have done enough in this country to forge relationships with people of different faiths as well…religion is such a sensitive topic, but I think it helps when we focus on our common goals…

  4. Okay, I know this is three blogs late, but I wanted to share my thoughts. To answer your questions, I do have friends of other faiths (primarily Jewish), and friends who are agnostic (one who describes himself as “evangelically agnostic”!). AFter reading a great book by Bill Hybels called “Becoming a Contagious Christian,” I have found new ways to be brave about sharing my faith. After all, none of us were born Christians! Someone had to tell us about Jesus. I want to speak up for Him, because I spent the majority of my life (until 2 years ago) not knowing who He really is. I wish someone had spoken up to me earlier! Of course, the Lord has redeemed even that, given me an on-fire spirit for Him now. And so I am grateful and more apt to share the why behind my gratitude. Thanks for the post, Jackie!

  5. @Katy, I find that I am very shy when it comes to sharing my faith…other than on this blog 🙂 I don’t want to be rejected, but I know that I need to speak up more than I do…The members of my Bible Study class have practiced our “approach” in class…hopefully, my practice will make it easier to share my faith and hope in the future…

  6. So neat that you are practicing what to say! We’re supposed to be ready to share our faith….good for you! Need to do the same, so the words flow naturally when needed. God bless…

Leave a comment