We Don’t Have to Take Our Clothes Off…

Hello World!

Yay! We get an extra hour of the weekend baby!

Sooo…check my title…remember that song that song from the ’80s? If you don’t, check the video below…

I remember when I first heard this song…I think I was in the sixth grade…I thought it was so revolutionary because of its message… some of the lyrics are below…

Not a word, from your lips
You just took for granted that I want to skinny dip.
A quick hit, that’s your game.
But I’m not a piece of meat, still you like my brain.
Night is young, so are we.
Let’s get to know each other better, slow & easily.
Take my hand, let’s hit the floor. Shake our bodies to the music.

Maybe then you’ll score.

I’m not even sure a song like that would even be played on the radio now….Anywho, by now, you are probably wondering why I’m writing about this song…well, we all know that premarital sex is frowned upon in the Bible, and I wrote about the topic more extensively last year – so much so that I won’t repeat myself…But as it turns out, a new study has confirmed that holding off on sex promotes more satisfying relationships….

Below are a few points from an article on the study in “The Washington Post.”

  • 642 people in relationships were interviewed.
  • 56 percent of them had waited until they were seriously dating, engaged or married before getting down with their significant other.
  • Participants in the study were asked to rate their emotional and physical satisfaction in their relationships from 1 to 5 with 5 being very satisfied.
  • Those that are started out as nonromantic sex partners gave an average rating of 3.8 while those who waited until their relationship was serious had an average rating of 4.2.
  • According to the researcher, University of Iowa sociologist Anthony Paik, it’s not the early sex necessarily caused problems. However, it did seem that most people that started their relationship as a “casual fling” were “predisposed to lower relationship quality.”
  • Paik’s final point – “So for those looking for happily committed relationships, Paik has a strategy to suggest: “Delay sex. That way you kind of select out those individuals who are predisposed to not look for a long-term relationship. ” That advice, he acknowledges, “is like what one’s grandmother would probably say.”

 

Any thoughts?

 

 

 

~ by jackieholness on November 7, 2010.

Leave a comment