Random Ramblings part deaux


Hello World!!!

I don’t have much to say today, but I did want to highlight a few random thoughts that have been roaming in my head…

1. Congratulations to President Obama for championing health care reform legislation that has been passed in the House and is now an issue for the Senate…I have made health care a matter of nearly daily prayer as I think that every U.S. citizen should have access to affordable health care…And I still thank God that within my lifetime, I have literally seen a black president of this great country with my own eyes… (Shout to my inauguration travel crew!!! I can’t believe we did that nearly a year ago…) To God be the glory, great things He has done…

2. Perseverance is …. taking the written exam for a driver’s license 950 times!!! A woman in South Korea has been taking the written exam nearly daily since April 2005 to get her license…She spent more than $4200 in application fees to take the test…Apparently, she needs the license for her vegetable-selling business…Her next goal is to actually pass the driving test…God bless her and her perseverance!!!

3. Why do I find myself a bit skeptical about Rihanna having a “tell-all” interview with Diane Sawyer about the now infamous incident with Chris Brown? Maybe it’s the fact that she is releasing an album soon that has me thinking this is part of some sort of “marketing and promotion” plan or maybe it’s her new rooster- like hairstyle that has me agitated…Ahh, I know that’s not nice, but….

4. What do you think of Ms. O’s decision to remove Bebe Winans from the lineup on her upcoming “karaoke challenge” show? Apparently, she removed him from the show after bloggers and Bebe’s ex-wife spoke out on what appeared to be a double standard by Oprah. She took a strong stance against domestic violence when the Rihanna Chris Brown incident erupted, but Bebe has also been accused of domestic violence…He will appear in court regarding this allegation on Jan. 20.

5. Have you read “Act Like Lady, Think Like A Man: What Men Really Think About Love, Relationships, Intimacy and Commitment” by Steve Harvey yet? I think I mentioned this book in a previous post, but several of my friends have told me this book has managed to cross their path without even searching for the book… (Even one of my white girlfriends has talked about the book.) One of the ladies at my church put a copy of the book right in my hands…I liked the book, but many bloggers have criticized Harvey because they don’t think a man who has been married and divorced several times should have much to say about romantic relationships….At any rate, he has been able to parlay the book’s success into a regular spot on “Good Morning America.” Also, Steve and his wife Majorie are featured on the December issue of ESSENCE magazine…I intend to buy a copy…

6. And what’s up with the black serial killer in Cleveland? For all of the challenges that we have faced in this country from slavery to driving while black, black people haven’t been the ones to commit mass murders…First the D.C. sniper and now this…things are changing and it’s not looking good…

7. And finally, am I the only one who is feeling a little sad about losing that extra hour of daylight at the end of the day…Seasonal affective disorder is real…

Any thoughts?

~ by jackieholness on November 8, 2009.

4 Responses to “Random Ramblings part deaux”

  1. Love your random thoughts of the day! Have a great week!

  2. […] done in two previous posts Random Ramblings aka I didn’t have a topic so bear with me  and Random Ramblings part deaux… So read on if you […]

  3. […] done in three previous posts Random Ramblings aka I didn’t have a topic so bear with me and Random Ramblings part deaux… So read on if you […]

Leave a comment